Legislative Briefings

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

SACRAMENTO – Today, the Assembly passed a series of bills aimed at strengthening the democratic process in California.


AB 44 by Assemblymember Kevin Mullin (D-South San Francisco) passed out of the Assembly on a 74-4 vote. This bill would provide a state-funded, full manual recount option for any statewide office or ballot measure where the margin of victory is 0.015% or 1,000 votes, whichever is lower. This reform addresses the serious flaws exposed in the existing recount system during the June 2014 State Controller’s primary race. Contact: Susan Kennedy, (916) 319-2022. Press release here. Video here.

AB 786 by Assemblymember Marc Levine (D-San Rafael) passed out of the Assembly on a 60-17 vote. This legislation requires the California Department of Motor Vehicles to fully comply with federal law that requires that the application for a driver’s license also serves as a voter registration form for those who are eligible to vote. Contact: Michael Miiller, (916) 319-2010. Press release here.

AB 1301 by Assemblymembers Reggie Jones-Sawyer (D-South Los Angeles) and Luis Alejo (D-Salinas) passed out of the Assembly on a 51-26 vote. This bill establishes a preclearance process for proposed voting related laws, regulations, and policies. Contact: (Jones-Sawyer) Joey Hill, (916) 319-2059 or (Alejo) Michelle Reyes, (916) 319-2030. More information here.

AB 1461 by Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) passed out of the Assembly on a 51-27 vote. The California New Motor Voter Act would register every eligible resident who goes to a Department of Motor Vehicles to get a license or renew one, with the ability to opt out. Contact: Evan McLaughlin, (916) 319-2080. Press release here.

Other legislation:

AB 172 by Assemblymember Freddie Rodriguez (D-Pomona) passed out of the Assembly on a 77-1 vote. AB 172 closes a loophole in current law that makes punishments for assaulting an emergency care provider outside of the emergency room more severe than for an assault that occurs inside the emergency room. Contact: Shanna Ezzell, (916) 319-2052. Press release here. Video here.

AB 1239 by Assemblymember Rich Gordon (D-Menlo Park) passed out of the Assembly on a 50-29 vote. This legislation establishes the Tire Recycling Incentive Program, which provides incentives for tire recycling activities in California. Contact: Francesca Segre, (650) 691-2121. More information here.