Releases & Statements

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

This Week:

AB 35 by Assemblymember David Chiu (D-San Francisco) and Speaker Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) passed the Revenue and Taxation Committee on Monday, May 18. This legislation would increase California’s Low Income Housing Tax Credit by $300 million for the construction and rehabilitation of affordable housing units across the state. Contact: Judson True, (916) 319-2017. Press release here

AB 159 by Assemblymember Ian Calderon (D-Whittier) passed the Assembly Floor on Monday, May 18 with bipartisan support. The “Right to Try” Act would allow eligible patients with a serious or immediately life-threatening disease to seek investigational drugs under the supervision of a physician. Contact: Lerna Shirinian, (562) 692-5858. Press release here.

AB 970 by Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian (D-Sherman Oaks) passed the Assembly Floor on Monday, May 18. This bill would broaden the authority of the Labor Commissioner to enforce wage-theft laws at the local level. Contact: Brian Stedge, (818) 376-4246.

Coming up:

AB 359 by Assemblymember Lorena Gonzalez (D-San Diego) will be up for an Assembly Floor vote on Tuesday, May 26. This legislation would require that grocery workers keep their jobs for 90 days following a merger of large grocery stores. Contact: Evan McLaughlin, (916) 319-2080. Press release here.

AB 603 by Assemblymember Rudy Salas (D-Bakersfield) will be heard in the Appropriations Committee on Thursday, May 28. The “Every Drop Counts” bill establishes a state tax credit for California taxpayers who replace their lawns with more drought-resistant landscaping or synthetic turf. Contact: Jillian Rice, (661) 335-0302. Press release here.

AB 816 by Assemblymember Rob Bonta (D-Oakland) will be up for an Assembly Floor vote tomorrow. This bill would advance the creation of new small businesses, create jobs and empower California communities by creating an election for worker cooperatives under existing law. Contact: Amy Alley, (916) 319-2018.

Website of the Assembly Democratic Caucus: